TimeFan

It's TIME for a forum about webcomics.
It is currently November 23rd, 2017 11:02:21 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Evangelical Christian
PostPosted: November 2nd, 2012 20:54:14 pm 
Month

Unwinder, you have really funny insights into Evangelical Christian culture. I was wondering--what is your window into that world? Were you raised in it, or have you always looked on it as an outsider?

PostPosted: November 3rd, 2012 20:37:57 pm 
Year

Oh, I was raised as one, and still am one.

The faith is very important to me, but the culture surrounding it is kind of stupid and funny.

PostPosted: November 5th, 2012 22:39:10 pm 
Month

Well, I suppose that explains why you know all about red delicious apples at fall festival events.

I was raised in that culture as well. (I'm a Christian today, but I'm not a Protestant any longer.) It was mostly a positive force in my life despite its goofy and shallow elements.

PostPosted: January 7th, 2015 20:33:42 pm 
Week

I was surprised to read this, as Unwinder in the comic seemed very cynical of the idea of going to church and the religious character is the a douche about it all the time.
So do the red apples mean something?

PostPosted: January 8th, 2015 00:51:19 am 
Year

It's not just red apples, it's Capital R Red Delicious apples. A very specific type of apple. They're mushy and overly sweet, and they're commonly given away for free at children's events.

Prudence's attitudes, tastes, and creative output are satirical. I try to write what I know, and I have a lot of personal experience with some of the wackier and more extreme corners of Christian culture (which, in my mind, bears almost no relation to the religion itself). Note that Unwinder's complaints about church have nothing to do with the church's beliefs, and everything to do with the church's off-putting culture.

Unwinder isn't intended to be a viewpoint character anyway. He does not represent me any more than Shadow does.